weather.gov     
National Weather Service

Watches, Warnings & Advisories
NWS Homepage

One product issued by NWS for:

Lake Wind Advisory

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE LAS VEGAS NV
218 AM PST SUN FEB 14 2016

...GUSTY NORTH WINDS EXPECTED MONDAY DOWN THE COLORADO RIVER...

AZZ002-036-CAZ527-NVZ021-150000-
/O.NEW.KVEF.LW.Y.0002.160215T1200Z-160216T0200Z/
LAKE HAVASU AND FORT MOHAVE-LAKE MEAD NATIONAL RECREATION AREA-
SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY-UPPER COLORADO RIVER VALLEY-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF...LAKE HAVASU CITY...DESERT HILLS...
TOPOCK...BULLHEAD CITY...MOHAVE VALLEY...NEEDLES...HOOVER DAM...
LAUGHLIN
218 AM PST SUN FEB 14 2016 /318 AM MST SUN FEB 14 2016/

...LAKE WIND ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM PST /5 AM MST/ TO 6 PM
PST /7 PM MST/ MONDAY FOR THE LAKE MEAD NATIONAL RECREATION AREA AND
COLORADO RIVER VALLEY...

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN LAS VEGAS HAS ISSUED A LAKE WIND
ADVISORY...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM PST /5 AM MST/ TO 6 PM
PST /7 PM MST/ MONDAY.

* TIMING...LATE SUNDAY NIGHT WITH THE STRONGEST WINDS EXPECTED EARLY
  MONDAY MORNING THROUGH AFTERNOON.

* WINDS...NORTH WINDS OF 25 TO 35 MPH WITH GUSTS LOCALLY EXCEEDING
  40 MPH.

* IMPACTS...STRONG WINDS WILL MAKE FOR DANGEROUS BOATING CONDITIONS
  AND CHOPPY WATER ON AREA LAKES AND RIVERS. SMALL BOATS MAY
  CAPSIZE.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A LAKE WIND ADVISORY INDICATES THAT WINDS WILL CAUSE ROUGH CHOP
ON AREA LAKES. SMALL BOATS WILL BE ESPECIALLY PRONE TO CAPSIZING.

&&

$$




U.S. Dept. of Commerce
NOAA National Weather Service
1325 East West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
E-mail: w-nws.webmaster@noaa.gov
Page last modified: May 16, 2007
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE: for Safety, for Work, for Fun - FOR LIFE