2004 SKYWARN Recognition Day

HF beam & Melbourne Radar Tower40 meter station; Dennis Decker; NWS(headphones) & BEARS operator

80 meter station - BEARS operator (left) & Pete Blottman (N2RFW, NWS)20 meter station - Eric Smitt (K9ES) & Stephanie Phillips (K4MVO)

20 meter beam

SKYWARN Recognition Day for Amateur Radio Operators is co-sponsored by the National Weather Service and the American Radio Relay League. The purpose of the event is to celebrate the contributions that amateur radio operators ("hams") make to the National Weather Service during times of critical weather. During the event, hams across the country try to contact as many NWS offices as possible using their radio equipment. The contacts are received and logged at the individual NWS offices by volunteer amateur radio operators. 

During the 6th annual event, three operations teams participated using individual transmitters from the NWS Melbourne, FL facility from 7 pm Friday December 3 through 7 pm Saturday December 4. The teams were comprised of ham operators from two active SKYWARN groups within East Central Florida: Brevard County Emergency Amateur Radio Services, Inc. (BEARS)  and Osceola County ARES/SKYWARN, as well as the East Central Florida SKYWARN Group (licensed NWS Melbourne meteorologists).  The NWS Melbourne East Central Florida SKYWARN Group callsign WX4MLB was used.

Thank you to all the BEARS and Osceola County ARES/RACES members who made this our most successful and enjoyable event yet, and to those stations who participated in the SKYWARN Recognition Day event and also those who support SKYWARN operations throughout the year.  

The 2004 results:

 Total Contacts:   1524
 States Contacted:   49
 NWS Stations Contacted:   68  
 Countries Contacted:  57
 Continents Contacted:  6
 Bands: 2, 6, 10, 15, 20, 40, 80 meters
 Modes: SSB, CW, APRS, PSK31

Event Participants:

Eric Smitt - K9ES BEARS
Stephanie Phillips - K4MVO BEARS
Dale Raulerson - KG8B BEARS
Greg O'Neill - AA0KO BEARS
Robert Osband - N4SCY BEARS
Donald Hartge - AG4FC BEARS
Richard Halquist - KG4FZO Osceola County ARES/SKYWARN
Joe Connery - WA1ZVA Osceola County ARES/SKYWARN
John Hayden - KG4BFJ Osceola County ARES/SKYWARN
Steven Proctor - KG4JFK Osceola County ARES/SKYWARN
Pete Blottman - N2RFW NWS Melbourne SKYWARN Group
Dennis Decker - KB4TYM NWS Melbourne SKYWARN Group
Scott Spratt - KT4PD NWS Melbourne SKYWARN Group
Bart Hagemeyer NWS Melbourne
Scott Kelly NWS Melbourne

For questions, comments, feedback, please email Scott Spratt.  To receive a QSL card from WX4MLB, please send an your card along with an SASE to: NWS Melbourne, 421 Croton Road, Melbourne, FL  32935. Electronic QSLs can be exchanged via http://eqsl.cc/qslcard/.  For certificate information, click here.

Previous Year Statistics

1999 279 20 38 7
2000 489 38 43 12
2001 276 33 48 3
2002 388 35 44 29
2003 538 42 43 20

SKYWARN Recognition Day Official Website

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.