South Florida Climate Station History

Observation sheet for Biscayne, Florida, October 1876

South Florida has four primary climate locations with relatively long periods of record: Miami (some records 1839-1890, continuous records 1895-present), Fort Lauderdale (some records 1839-1841, continuous records 1912-present), West Palm Beach (continuous records 1888-present), and Naples (continuous records 1942-present).  Here are maps and descriptions of the locations of the weather instruments through time:




Fort Lauderdale


West Palm Beach


Naples is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.