Non-Precipitation Warnings / Watches / Advisories
Issued by NWS Midland/Odessa, TX

Skip options and go directly to product.
Home | Oldest Version | Next Version | Current Version | All | Text Only | Save Text | Print | Product List | Glossary On

Skip product version selection by date and time.   
806
WWUS74 KMAF 281918
NPWMAF

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE MIDLAND/ODESSA TX
218 PM CDT THU APR 28 2016

...HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT FRIDAY FOR THE GUADALUPE
MOUNTAINS...

.AN UPPER LEVEL STORM SYSTEM WILL PASS TO THE NORTH DURING THE
DAY FRIDAY. STRONG WINDS WILL ROUND THE BASE OF THE SYSTEM AND
MIX TO THE SURFACE...RESULTING IN STRONG TO DAMAGING WINDS ACROSS
THE GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS.

NMZ027-TXZ258-291000-
/O.UPG.KMAF.HW.A.0014.160429T1500Z-160430T0300Z/
/O.NEW.KMAF.HW.W.0020.160429T1500Z-160430T0300Z/
GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS OF EDDY COUNTY-GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS-
INCLUDING THE CITIES OF...QUEEN...GUADALUPE MOUNTAINS NP...
PINE SPRINGS
218 PM CDT THU APR 28 2016 /118 PM MDT THU APR 28 2016/

...HIGH WIND WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 10 AM CDT /9 AM MDT/ TO 10 PM
CDT /9 PM MDT/ FRIDAY...

* WINDS...WEST 30 TO 45 MPH WITH GUSTS TO 65 MPH.

* IMPACTS...WINDS WILL BE PARTICULARLY HAZARDOUS AT HIGHER
  ELEVATIONS WHERE THE STRONGEST WINDS ARE LIKELY TO OCCUR. BE
  ESPECIALLY CAREFUL DRIVING IN THESE MOUNTAINOUS AREAS. ABRUPT
  CHANGES IN WIND FORCES OCCUR WHEN ROUNDING SHARP TURNS OR
  PASSING OBSTACLES TO THE WIND RESULTING IN LOSS OF CONTROL OF
  VEHICLES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A HIGH WIND WARNING MEANS A HAZARDOUS HIGH WIND EVENT IS EXPECTED
OR OCCURRING. SUSTAINED WIND SPEEDS OF AT LEAST 40 MPH OR GUSTS
OF 58 MPH OR MORE CAN LEAD TO PROPERTY DAMAGE.

&&

$$

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.