Non-Precipitation Warnings / Watches / Advisories
Issued by NWS Midland/Odessa, TX

Skip options and go directly to product.
Home | Oldest Version | Next Version | Current Version | All | Graphics & Text | Save Text | Print | Product List | Glossary On

Skip product version selection by date and time.   
310
WWUS74 KMAF 211916
NPWMAF

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE
National Weather Service Midland/Odessa TX
116 PM CST Tue Feb 21 2017

...High Wind Watch in effect for the Guadalupe Mountains Thursday
through Thursday evening...

.A strong upper level storm system will track across the central
Plains on Thursday. Wind speeds should increase significantly
across the Guadalupe Mountains Thursday as this system passes by
to the north.

NMZ027-TXZ258-221215-
/O.NEW.KMAF.HW.A.0006.170223T1600Z-170224T0600Z/
Guadalupe Mountains of Eddy County-Guadalupe Mountains-
Including the cities of Queen, Guadalupe Mountains NP,
and Pine Springs
1216 PM MST Tue Feb 21 2017

...HIGH WIND WATCH IN EFFECT FROM THURSDAY MORNING THROUGH
THURSDAY EVENING...

* TIMING...9 AM MST / 10 AM CST Thursday to Midnight CST / 11 PM
  MST Thursday.

* WINDS...Southwest winds 35 to 55 mph. Gusts 65 to 75 mph.

* IMPACTS...Winds will be particularly hazardous at higher
  elevations where the strongest winds are likely to occur. Be
  especially careful driving in these mountainous areas. Abrupt
  changes in wind occurs when rounding sharp turns or passing
  obstacles to the wind resulting in loss of control of vehicles.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A High Wind Watch means there is the potential for a hazardous
high wind event. Sustained winds of at least 40 mph, or gusts of
58 mph or stronger may occur. Continue to monitor the latest
forecasts.

&&

$$