< < Go Back

Paulding County COOP Observer Receives Award for Outstanding Service
July 2008



[ Group photo of participants of Mr. L. Douglas Griffith Day ]
Monday 21 July 2008 was
"Mr. L. Douglas Griffith Day"
at the NWS in Peachtree City.
(click photo to enlarge)
The National Weather Service (NWS) in Peachtree City recently honored Mr. L. Douglas Griffith Cooperative Weather Observer, for 35 years of "Outstanding Service" to the NWS.

Mr. Griffith, a volunteer weather observer, began taking daily weather observations for the NWS in March of 1973 from his home near Dallas in Paulding County. During the 35 plus years he has taken observations of temperature and rainfall, he has not missed a single day recording the weather! This amazing achievement was accomplished despite personal adversities such as being struck by lightning - not once, but twice - having his home partially destroyed by fire and having a semi-tractor trailer tuck leave the road and run through his house. Said Mr. Lans Rothfusz, Meteorologist-In-Charge of the NWS in Peachtree City, "Mr. Griffith is valued partner with us and his dedication and service are truly inspiring. We commend him for his unwavering support to the national climate record."

Former NWS Director David Johnson said, "Mr. Griffith's true devotion to his responsibilities represents the dedication that keeps the National Weather Service Cooperative Observation network strong."

Mr. Griffith, one of the most decorated volunteers for the NWS, has been presented with numerous awards including;

John Campanius Holm Award, (10/26/1992). This award was named for a Lutheran minister who was the first person known to have taken systematic weather observations in 1644 and 1645 in the American Colonies. Each year, 25 Cooperative Observers nationwide are honored with the John Campanius Holm Award for outstanding accomplishments in the field of cooperative observations.

Thomas Jefferson Award, (1/20/2000). This award was named after our third President who kept an almost unbroken series of weather records from 1776 to 1816. The Thomas Jefferson Award is the most prestigious award for the cooperative observer. Five Cooperative Observers are honored each year with the Jefferson Award for outstanding and distinctive achievements.

The NWS Directors Coin Award (1/30/2006). This Award was presented by then NWS Director, General Johnson for EXCELLENCE.

For his accomplishment, the NWS in Peachtree City declared Mr. L. Douglas Griffith Day on Monday 21 July 2008. Mr. Griffith was hosted by the National Weather Service Southeast River Forecast Center and the Weather Forecast Office to honor his outstanding service during an open house and award ceremony. Mr. Griffith was shown all the latest technology the NWS currently uses and also how volunteer weather data is collected, processed and used.

Mr. L. Douglas Griffith Day
[ Group photo of participants of Mr. L. Douglas Griffith Day ]
Helping celebrate L. Douglas Griffith Day pictured left to right Mike Leary, Nene Robertson, Brett Whitin, Frank Taylor, Todd Hamill, Wylie Quillian, Vernoa Murrell, Mr. L. Douglas Griffith (in suit), Barry Gooden, Lans Rothfusz, Judi Bradberry, Laura Griffith, Robert Beasley and Matt Grantham.
Photography is courtesy of Rick Ullom SERFC.
back to homepageBack to home page

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.