Radar Reflectivity Loop

Reflectivity images from the Shelby County Airport WSR-88D. 0.5 degree reflectivity images are from January 19th, 2001 from 8:44 AM CST (1444 UTC) to 10:01 AM CST (1601 UTC).

The damage caused by the tornado places it in the weak category as an F0. The tornado path was 2.3 miles long and about 100 yards wide. The initial touchdown occurred at 9:22 AM and ended at 9:25 AM. Note the large "knot of reflectivity" moving across northern Montgomery County, and south and east Elmore County from 1510 UTC to 1546 UTC.

 

 

 

 


USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.