KGWX Radar Reflectivity Loop

This is a loop of 0.5 degree elevation base reflectivty.

Key times to watch for:
  • The Haleyville Tornado first struck about 3 tenths of a mile inside Marion County around 11:21 AM CST (17:21Z or UTC). The tornado continued traveling northeast through a residential and partially wooded area before ending about 7 tenths of a mile northeast of downtown haleyville at 11:24 AM CST (17:24Z or UTC).
  • Another tornado, longest of the day, began at 10:57 AM CST (16:57Z or UTC) 4.9 miles southwest of Kennedy. This tornado traveled on a northeast track moving into Fayette County at 11:07 AM CST (17:07Z or UTC). Traveling northeast it went across western and northern sections of the city of Fayette doing serious damage to a number of structures. From the city of Fayette the tornado traveled across mostly rural areas damaging occasional structures and downing numerous trees. The tornado crossed into Walker County at 11:41 AM CST a little south-southwest of Carbon Hill before ending.

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state and local government web resources and services.